Awards Healthcare

Healthcare Facilities Symposium Distinction Award Winners Announced

Long Beach, CA – The Healthcare Facilities Symposium and Expo announced the winners of its 2022 Symposium Distinction Awards. The annual program recognizes design teams, projects and individuals who have made a profound contribution to the healthcare design industry.

The program accepts submissions of all types and sizes of patient care-related facilities. In addition, it recognizes the best and most innovative new products within the healthcare design and construction industry. A total of eight awards were announced during a lunch celebration on Sept. 27.

“The Symposium Distinction Awards have been a celebrated and notable component of Healthcare Facilities Symposium & Expo since its inception 35 years ago,” said Jenabeth Ferguson, vice president, symposium director. “Our wonderful judges, James Atkinson, vice president and director, healthcare design and planning for HDR, Inc; Marcus A. Budaus, AIA, ACHA, LEED AP, associate principal/senior vice president for HKS, INC.; Gary W. Collins, AIA, NCARB, senior director, healthcare for Virtual Energy Solutions; Rolando Conesa, AIA, NCARB, principal for NELSON; and Amy Douma, AIA, NCARB, and LEED AP, vice president for HGA Architects and Engineers; have an important job evaluating submissions to choose this year’s winners and we are so excited to honor these individuals, projects and products.”

The Team Award focuses on a project team that has worked together to change the face of healthcare design through innovation, creativity, efficiency and teamwork.

Winner: Boston Children’s Hospital Hale Family Building

The User-Centered Award recognizes a healthcare design project or facility that best reflects and balances the requirements of patients, their family and practitioners.

Winner: Jamestown S’Klallam Tribe Healing Clinic

The Adaptive Reuse Award recognizes a healthcare design project that creatively achieved the reuse of an existing structure or space originally used for another purpose.

Winner: Hoag On-Demand Care & Innovation Center

The Individual Award seeks to distinguish a professional in the fields of healthcare planning, design, construction and operations that have displayed leadership and vision over a significant period of their career. This award looks to recognize an individual whose passion and driven their organizations or project teams to enhance the healing environment and a way above and beyond.

Winner: Tim Laboranti, Principal of Healthcare Design, BDA Architects

The George Pressler Under 40 Award seeks the next generation of leaders within the fields of healthcare planning, design, construction and operations. The George Pressler Award recognizes a young professional who has demonstrated leadership and vision within their organization or project teams.

Winner: Stephen Parker, Senior Associate, Stantec

The Product Awards recognize innovative new products that contribute to the enrichment of a healing environment through their unique design and operational support.

Most Innovative: AkitaBox Facility Condition Assessment Software

Most Sustainable: Altro Tegulis

Architect’s Choice: Interface Desert Scapes