CI Announces Annual Awards Recipients

East Hartford, CT – The Construction Institute (CI) announced the recipients of its 2022 Annual Awards. The awardees are recognized as some of the industry’s most outstanding leaders, committed to CI’s mission of promoting cross-industry collaboration.

Steve Blovish

The David N. LaBau Lifetime Recognition Award goes to Steve Blovish, retired, Bartlett Brainard Eacott, Inc. The award honors a lifetime of dedication to CI and a continued impact on the AEC industry. Blovish began a 35- year career working for Bartlett Brainard Eacott as a project engineer in 1985, being promoted to superintendent in 1986, project manager in 1988, and working as a project executive from 2000 until his retirement in July 2020. Blovish has been an active member of CI since 1990, serving on the board of directors for more than a decade.

The Distinguished Service Award goes to F. Michael Ayles, FAIA, principal, Antinozzi Associates, for significant contributions during his many years of service as a volunteer with CI, serving on the advisory board and as one of the creators of the institute’s AEC Leadership Conference. Since joining Antinozzi Associates in 1994, he held the roles of project architect/manager and director of operations before becoming a firm principal in 2008 and focusing on business development. He has served on many committees and boards, for organizations such as the ACE Mentor Program, NCARB, SMPS, CBC, and CI.

F. Michael Ayles

This year’s inaugural Digital Leadership Award goes to Erik Sanford, CM-BIM, CM-Lean, LEED-AP, VDC/BIM director at Dimeo Construction Company. For over 22 years, he has contributed to the AEC industry through technology and process improvement. Sanford has devoted the previous 14 years to the advancement of VDC, with a focus on automation and the collection and use of data. He is also a certified instructor for the AGC Certificate of Management – BIM program. He is a frequent speaker on technology topics, including BIM, blockchain, and smart contracts.

This year’s inaugural Volunteer of the Year award goes to the 2022 Planning Committee of the AEC Leadership Conference. The 2022 Planning Committee members are Ayles, Kate Anderson of The Lee Company, Tiffany Cartier of Fuss & O’Neill, Jim Cecil of Nexii, Kaitlyn Dobberfuhl of Gilbane Building Company, Jeryn Koritzinsky of BRG, and Tony Messina of Whiting Turner Construction. They are being recognized for their effective teamwork and their innovative contributions to the conference.

Erik Sanford

Interstate Electric Services Corporation is the recipient of this year’s Special Industry Recognition Award. This award is reserved for an AEC organization, firm or institution that has made an outstanding contribution to the industry and to the community. In 2020, Interstate launched the first apprenticeship program in Massachusetts specifically designed for manufacturing assemblers in the electrical field. Participants who complete the program earn an Assembler Certificate, which is officially registered with the state of Massachusetts.

CI’s 2022 Annual Dinner and Awards is scheduled to be held on June 9 at the Society Room in Hartford.