Awards Connecticut

ASLA Connecticut Announces Winners of 2024 Landscape Architecture Awards

Northwest Science Quad at the University of Connecticut

New Haven, CT – The Connecticut Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA Connecticut) has announced the winners of its annual Connecticut Professional & Student Awards competition, recognizing excellence in landscape architectural design, planning and analysis, communication, and research.

To be eligible for the professional awards, applicants must be a member of the American Society of Landscape Architects, and the entrant or project location must be based in Connecticut; students must either be enrolled in the University of Connecticut Landscape Architecture program or state residents attending an accredited landscape architecture program in another location.

Winners of the 2024 ASLA Connecticut Professional & Student Awards competition:

Landscape Architectural Design/Built Works — Corporate | Institutional Spaces

•   Towers|Golde, LLC (New Haven, CT) — EXCELLENCE AWARD for The Northwest Science Quad at the University of Connecticut (Storrs, CT)

•   Reed Hilderbrand (New Haven, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Community Care: St. Thomas More Catholic Chapel & Center at Yale (New Haven, CT)

•   Wesley Stout Associates (New Canaan, CT) — HONOR AWARD for VDRS Headquarters (South Norwalk, CT)

•   Artemis Landscape Architects (Sandy Hook, CT) with SWA Group — MERIT AWARD for The Clearing: Sandy Hook Permanent Memorial (Sandy Hook, CT)

Landscape Architectural Design/Built Works — Residential

•   Artemis Landscape Architects (Sandy Hook, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Creating Connections (Katonah, NY)

•   Artemis Landscape Architects (Sandy Hook, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Sea Cove Views (Jamestown, RI)

•   Janice Parker Landscape Architects (Greenwich, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Rose Manor (Greenwich, CT)

•   James Doyle Design Associates (Greenwich, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Pollinator-Friendly Homestead (Greenwich, CT)

Landscape Planning & Analysis

•   SLR Consulting (New Haven, CT) — HONOR AWARD for Visioning a Historic Retail Corridor (Greenwich, CT)

•   SLR Consulting (New Haven, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Woodbridge Business Connectivity Study (Woodbridge, CT)

Landscape Architectural Communication

•   Fuss & O’Neill, Inc. (Manchester, CT) — MERIT AWARD for Pine Street TOD Mobility and Green Infrastructure Improvements (Pawtucket, RI)

Student Awards

•   Elisabeth Helmin (of Woodstock, CT), University of Connecticut — HONOR AWARD for Transformative Design in Downtown Storrs

•   Michael Amato (of Cromwell, CT), with Zachary Delorenzo & Pavana Jairaj, University of Massachusetts Amherst — MERIT AWARD for Field and Forest Ecovillage

The jury for this year’s competition was comprised of members of the Kentucky Chapter of ASLA.