ACEC/MA Announces Winner of Grand Conceptor Engineering Excellence Award

Boston – The American Council of Engineering Companies of Massachusetts (ACEC/MA) has named GEI Consultants as the 2023 winner of the Grand Conceptor Engineering Excellence Award.

The Engineering Excellence Awards are an annual celebration of engineering excellence, honoring projects worldwide that demonstrate innovation, creative problem-solving, and engineering’s unique ability to improve the world. The competition provides visibility for the firm, the design team, the client and the project. The top winners at the state level proceed to the national competition administered by the American Council of Engineering Companies in Washington, D.C., where they will compete for, among other awards, the national Grand Conceptor Award.

GEI Consultants won the Grand Conceptor Award for its work on the Conley Terminal Modernization- Berth 10 for MassPort. Massport’s Conley Container Terminal is a vital economic asset for New England as it’s the only deep-water, full-service container terminal. Augmenting it with a deep-water berth was essential for accommodating ultra-large “New Panamax” cargo vessels built after the Panama Canal expansion. The completion of Berth 10 made it possible for the Port of Boston to provide 1,300 linear feet of berthing and remain competitive on the world stage. Sustainable management of 91,000 cubic yards of contaminated soil, sediment, and construction materials reduced the project’s impacts to the environment and surrounding community, exemplifying the merits of reclamation and reuse.

“The ACEC/MA Engineering Excellence Awards Competition recognizes engineering achievements that demonstrate the highest degree of merit and ingenuity,” said Colleen Moore, president of ACEC/MA and president of City Point Partners. “We celebrate these outstanding engineering achievements, congratulate our winners and thank them for their contributions to improving the quality of our everyday lives.”

ACEC/MA is accepting entries for the 2024 awards through Oct. 3.