Awards Featured People

SMPS CT Honors Three for Professional Achievement

Hartford, CT – During the annual meeting on June 17, the SMPS Connecticut board of directors virtually honored three individuals with Professional Achievement Awards for their contributions to the SMPS CT chapter and/or AEC industry.

Hannah Sullivan

This year’s Grace Waldvogel Member of the Year award honors Hannah Sullivan, marketing coordinator with Standard Builders, Inc. (SBI), for going above and beyond as an active SMPS CT member and volunteer on both the Communications and Programs committees.

Sullivan has been with SBI for almost five years, having joined the marketing team as a college intern. She handles both internal and external communication.

The Trail Blazer Award honors a marketer/business development professional who shows great promise in the AEC industry and possesses a positive attitude.

Cynthia Colon



This year the award goes to Cynthia Colon, marketing coordinator with QA+M Architecture.

She joined the AEC industry and SMPS in 2019 and is an active member of SMPS CT’s Communications Committee and Diversity and Inclusion Taskforce.  She will be the secretary to the board of directors for the 2020-2021 program year.

Maria Loitz





Maria A. Loitz, FSMPS, CPSM, chief marketing officer with BVH Integrated Services, is this year’s recipient of the prestigious James Bancroft Lifetime Achievement Award.

The award honors a seasoned marketing/business development professional who has made endless contributions to the profession and AEC industry and has also served as an advisor for the chapter.

With 25 years of experience, Loitz directs the marketing and communications efforts for the consulting engineering firm, BVH Integrated Services.

Inducted as a fellow by the Society for Marketing Professional Services in 2016, she continues to contribute to SMPS on local and national levels. For the past 15 years, she has held leadership roles in the ACE Mentor Program of Connecticut, currently serving as its president.