CT ASLA Announces 2018 Professional Award Winners

New Haven, CT – The Connecticut Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (CTASLA) recently announced the winners of its annual Connecticut Professional Awards competition, presented at the organization’s annual meeting in December.

CTASLA conducts the awards competition to recognize excellence in landscape architectural design, planning and analysis, communication, and research. To be eligible, an applicant must be a landscape architect or designer in the state of Connecticut, and the entrant or project location must be based in Connecticut.

“These projects showcase the depth and talents of our members and the value that landscape architecture brings to the built environment across Connecticut,” said Debra De Vries-Dalton, president of CTASLA and a designer with Aris Land Studio, of Bridgeport, Conn.

The jury for this year’s competition consisted of members of the Alaska Chapter of ASLA.

Winners of the 2018 Connecticut ASLA Professional Awards competition include:

Landscape Architectural Design: Corporate Institutional

Towers|Golde, LLC (New Haven), Award of Excellence for University of Kentucky Chandler Hospital (Lexington, Ky.)









Dinep + Schwab (West Hartford), Honor Award for The Healing Garden at Cone Health Cancer Center (Greensboro, N.C.)










Milone & MacBroom, Inc. (Cheshire), Merit Award for Entertainment & Media Company Campus Green (Bristol)










Towers|Golde, LLC (New Haven), with Devore Associates (Fairfield), Merit Award for Norma Pfriem Healing Garden (Bridgeport)









Towers|Golde, LLC (New Haven), Merit Award for 1775 Tysons Boulevard (McLean, Va.)










Landscape Architectural Design: Municipal/Public Spaces

BL Companies (Hartford), Merit Award for Connecticut State Veterans’ Cemetery Expansion and Improvements (Middletown)










Landscape Architectural Design: Residential


Doyle Herman Design Associates (Greenwich), Honor Award for Engaging the Native Landscape (Rye, N.Y.)









Anne Penniman Associates, LLC (Essex), Honor Award for Island Habitat Landscape (Mason’s Island, Mystic)









Gregory Lombardi Design Incorporated (Cambridge, Mass.), Merit Award for Field Point Estate (Greenwich)









Threshold Landscape Architecture, LLC (Redding Ridge), Merit Award for Landscape for Walking, Gathering and Listening to Music (Redding)




Reed Hilderbrand LLC (New Haven), Merit Award for Forest Cucoloris (New Haven)












Devore Associates (Fairfield), Merit Award for A Coastal Home (Stamford)









Doyle Herman Design Associates (Greenwich), Merit Award for New England Respite (New Canaan)









Landscape Planning and Analysis

Anne Penniman Associates, LLC (Essex), Honor Award for Elizabeth Park Master Plan (Hartford/West Hartford)








The S/L/A/M Collaborative (Glastonbury), Merit Award for Sacred Heart University Campus Master Plan (Fairfield)