Awards Connecticut

CBC Announces 27th Annual Project Team Awards

Fairfield University's Leo D. Mahoney Arena

Plantsville, CT – The Connecticut Building Congress (CBC) announced that Fairfield University’s Leo D. Mahoney Arena was selected as the 2023 Project Team of the Year at the 27th Annual Project Team Awards Banquet, held on June 13 at the Aqua Turf Club night in Plantsville.

Each year, CBC looks for outstanding design and construction projects including new construction and renovations that exemplify project team excellence and represent the best practices in teamwork by project owners, architects, engineers, constructors, tradespeople, suppliers, and service providers. One team is chosen out of all the winners as the one that best represents surpassing goals and achieving higher project quality through this close collaboration. This year’s winners in each category are:

Rocky Neck Village

Multi-Family / Mixed Use (Large)

First Place: Rocky Neck Village – East Lyme, Conn., submitted by LaRosa Building Group for Rocky Neck Village

Civic (Small)

Award of Merit: East Haven Veterans Memorial Ice Rick – East Haven, Conn., submitted by SLAM Collaborative for the Town of East Haven

Commercial / Industrial (Large)

Award of Merit: Paragon Medical – Southington, Conn., submitted by Bartlett Brainard Eacott, Inc. for Paragon Medical

Healthcare (Small)

First Place: Emergency Department Annex – New Haven, Conn., submitted by Petra Construction Corporation for Yale New Haven Health

Award of Merit: Connecticut Children’s Westport Pediatric Specialty Care Center – Westport, Conn., submitted by Phase Zero Design for Connecticut Children’s Westport Pediatric Specialty Care Center

Higher Education (Small)

Award of Merit: Quinnipiac’s Admissions Visitors Center – Hamden, Conn., submitted by Wohlsen Construction Company for Quinnipiac University

Higher Education (Large)

First Place: Fairfield University Leo D. Mahoney Arena – Fairfield, Conn., submitted by Gilbane Building Co. for Fairfield University

Award of Merit: Gant Science Complex at the University of Connecticut – Storrs, Conn., submitted by Goody Clancy for UCONN

Bristol Arts and Innovation Magnet School

K-12 Schools (Large)

First Place: John F. Kennedy Middle School – Enfield, Conn., submitted by Gilbane Building Co. for Enfield Public Schools

Award of Merit: Bristol Arts and Innovation Magnet School – Bristol, Conn., submitted by Benesch for the Bristol Board of Education

Transportation (Small)

Award of Merit: Davis Avenue Bridge – Greenwich, Conn., submitted by Benesch for the Town of Greenwich

The judges for the program were Matt Hart, executive director, Capitol Region Council of Governments; Namhun Lee, Ph.D., CM-BIM, professor, Central Connecticut State University; and Allen Rissugnol, CEO, Edge Architecture and project executive at Edge Building & Construction.

The Connecticut Building Congress Scholarship Fund (CBCSF) also announced the 2023 student scholarship winners at the event. Student winners came from the following cities or towns: Sandy Hook, Old Greenwich, Hamden and Deep River.

CBC also honored the late Kevin Levesque, CBC board member and Programs Committee co-chair, and executive member of the Babbidge Construction Company. CBC representatives say Levesque was a valued leader at CBC, and that he will be remembered for his intelligence, generous spirit, and incredible smile, adding that he was a wonderful father and leaves behind three young children who were the light of his life. Donations in his memory and to support his children can be made to the Kevin D. Levesque Memorial Trust.