WinningEdge Scholarship Recipients Announced

Boston – WinnCompanies announced it has awarded $72,000 in scholarships to 60 residents of apartment communities managed by WinnResidential, as well as 10 children or dependents of the company’s team members, to support their postsecondary education at colleges, universities, or professional trade schools.

The residents who received WinningEdge scholarships for the 2022-23 academic year hail from 11 states. Three dozen live in residential properties in Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, and Rhode Island. An additional 24 recipients are from military families living in Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Kentucky, New York, North Carolina, and Texas at privatized military housing managed by WinnResidential Military Housing Services, a joint venture of WinnCompanies and Lendlease.

Employee scholarships were awarded to the children of WinnCompanies team members from Hawaii, New Hampshire, New York, North Carolina, Massachusetts, and Texas.

The scholarships are earned on a competitive basis from applications that include transcripts, essays, and personal references. Recipients are chosen based on academic performance, financial need, leadership in school, community or place of work, and proficiency in their chosen field of study.

“The WinningEdge Scholarship is one way we reaffirm our commitment to improving the communities and the lives of the people we serve,” said WinnCompanies CEO, Gilbert Winn. “Since launching this program in 2012, we have awarded more than $575,000 in scholarships to nearly 540 individuals. We’re pleased to make this down payment on the bright futures of resident and employee families.”

To manage the program, WinnCompanies partners with uAspire, a national nonprofit whose mission is ensuring that all young people have the financial information and resources necessary to find an affordable path to and through college. uAspire delivers free financial advising services to all first- and second-year students applying for a WinningEdge Scholarship.

Click here to view the scholarship winners.