SLAM Completes St. Timothy’s School Design

The Gerry Sisters Five Arts and Student Center building with Fearless Girl sculpture front and center overlooking the Ridge / All photos by Alain Jaramillo

Stevenson, MD – The S/L/A/M Collaborative (SLAM), a national architecture firm, has completed programming, design, and documentation for the 27,800sf renovation and addition of the Five Arts and Student Center at St. Timothy’s School, a private all-girls high school established in 1882.

The school held a dedication and ribbon cutting ceremony celebrating the completion of the Five Arts and Student Center in May.

Newly designed lounge area

“This was a truly transformative project for the building and the school,” says Richard Connell, FAIA, SLAM principal-in-charge. “It will provide high quality space for the arts, including a beautifully updated theater, new dance rehearsal space, large gallery, and a welcoming space for students to study and collaborate.”

The former two-story Hannah More Arts Center, now named The Gerry Sisters Five Arts and Student Center, is home to programs in literature, theatre, dance, visual arts and music. There is also a vibrant maker space on the ground floor. Inspired by the materials of one of the school’s original buildings, the Carter House, a French-style mansion, the center uses classical materials of copper, butler stone, and cedar to transform the new building into a contemporary design.

Beautifully refurbished 330-theater, featuring new seats, lighting and A/V

Other significant upgrades to the facility include a refurbished 330-seat theater featuring new seats, lighting and A/V, a full-service health and wellness center, additional classroom space for the English department, and an expanded 1,300sf art gallery.

The courtyard located between the Five Arts and Student Center and dining facility was redesigned with new ornamental trees, benches and new pavers, creating a more welcoming space to relax in between classes in the outdoors.

The expanded 1,300sf art gallery

SLAM’s previous work on campus includes the design of The Commons and Redland Café and Dixon Hall, the main academic building on campus.