Preservation Massachusetts Announces 2022 Awardees

The Archer Residences

Plymouth, MA – Preservation Massachusetts announced the recipients of the 2022 Preservation Awards: Bringing Communities Together. A jury of preservation experts selected 19 exemplary people and projects that made significant contributions in the past year to preserving historic resources in communities from Adams to Boston. Awardees were honored at a celebration at Boston’s Fairmont Copley Plaza on May 11.

Houghton Library / Photo by Peter Vanderwarker

Since 1988, Preservation Massachusetts’ highest honor, the Paul & Niki Tsongas Award, has recognized the very best in historic preservation efforts, individuals and achievements across the Commonwealth. Other awards include the Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award, for projects that embrace community partnerships; the Robert H. Kuehn, Jr. Award, for rehabilitation and active reuse projects; the Frederick Law Olmsted Award, for cultural landscapes; the Charles Eliot Award, for organizations for excellence in vision and planning; and the People’s Preservation Choice Award.

2022 Preservation Award Winners

Paul & Niki Tsongas Award

  • The Archer Residences, Beacon Hill, Boston
  • The Langham, Boston
  • Houghton Library, Harvard University, Cambridge
  • Knitting Mill Apartments, Fall River
  • Sears Building, Greenfield
  • Jo Ellen Hensley, National Park Service
  • Jim Donahue, Old Sturbridge Village
  • Mason Square Apartments at Indian Motorcycle, Springfield
  • Courthouse Lofts, Worcester

Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award

  • Building 16 at 25 Fid Kennedy Ave., Boston
  • College of Fine Arts (H.K. Noyes & Sons Buick), Boston University, Boston
  • Boston Public Library, Roslindale Branch
  • Residences at Wells School, Southbridge
  • Taunton City Hall

Harvard Divinity School’s Swartz Hall

Robert H. Kuehn Award

  • Mausert Block, Adams
  • Charles River Speedway, Boston
  • Swartz Hall, Harvard Divinity School, Cambridge

Frederick Law Olmsted Award

  • Boston Harbor Now

Charles Eliot Award

  • The Public Archaeology Laboratory, Inc.

People’s Preservation Choice Award

  • Mausert Block, Adams

Mausert Block

The annual event also serves as a fundraiser for Preservation Massachusetts. Founded in 1985, this statewide nonprofit organization actively promotes the preservation of historic buildings and landscapes as a positive force for economic development and the retention of community character. Preservation Massachusetts is an advocacy and education organization that works with individuals and organizations striving to make an economic impact, create jobs, and enhance the collective quality of life through preservation.