CT ABC 15th Annual EIC Award Honors Top Contractors

Steve Adams Photography

Southington, CT – CT ABC hosted its 15th annual Excellence in Construction awards ceremony in October at the Aquaturf in Southington,  with over 600 professionals from the CT AEC industry in attendance. The event honored construction companies and subcontractors who performed work on outstanding construction projects completed as of October 2017.




Large General Contractor: Cianbro Corporation
Small General Contractor: W.M. Schultz Construction, Inc.
Specialty Subcontractor: EMCOR Services New England Mechancial
Leadership Award: Mike Franck, Safety Supervisor, Cianbro Corporation

CT ABC Chris Fryxell addresses a crowd of over 600 construction industry professionals

Also honored were:

Co-Legislators of the Year: Rep. David Baram and Senator Kevin Witkos
Hero Award: Vince Attwater Young of G. Donovan Associates, Inc. in appreciation for his dedication to Conn.’s veterans and the Open Shop Salute program.
Legacy Award: Bob Hollis of Central Connecticut Fire Protection in recognition of his passion, dedication, and vision, and for being an integral part of CT ABC’s Construction Career Days.
Industry Tribute Award: Allen V. Herring in recognition of his leadership, creativity, and service to the state of Conn.

Awards displayed on table

The following companies were recognized as Excellence in Construction Award recipients:

C.E. Floyd Company, Inc.
Ethel Walker School – Centennial Center

Cianbro Corporation
Manning LNG Storage and Trucking Facility

Crest Mechanical Services
Goodwin Hotel

Enterprise Builders, Inc.
Loom City Lofts

Interstate Electrical Services Corporation
Columbia Gas Operations Center Campus

KBE Building Corporation
Jewish Senior Services, the Harry and Jeanette Weinberg Campus

Notch Mechanical Constructors
Pepperidge Farm Sugar Silo & Automation Project

S/L/A/M Construction Services
Saint Francis Hospital & Medical Center, 103 Woodland Street Renovation

Viking Construction, Inc.
Davis Gardens

The following companies were recognized as Merit Award recipients:

Enterprise Builders, Inc.
Colony Street Transit Oriented Development

KBE Building Corporation
Next Generation Connecticut Residence Hall, University of Connecticut

Kronenberger & Sons Restoration, Inc.
Exterior Restoration New Haven Courthouse GA #23

Nosal Builders, Inc.
State Veterans’ Cemetery Expansions and Improvements

The year’s Best in Show was awarded to Kronenberger & Sons Restoration, Inc. for its Penfield Reef Lighthouse Project. This top designation was chosen by the panel of judges as the year’s best of the best.


The Penfield Reef Lighthouse project involved the complete exterior envelope restoration; the granite caisson above the high-tide line; the complete repair and restoration of the lightkeeper’s house, including granite masonry restoration and repointing; rebuilding of the brick chimney; the replacement of existing fenestrations, including doors, windows, running trim; the replacement of the existing roof assembly; and the stripping and restoration of the steel octagon light and replacement of associated glazing along with hazardous material abatement in the form of lead and asbestos.

The Excellence in Construction and Merit Award winners are projects submitted to this annual competition and judged by an independent panel of judges that include architects, engineers, and university professionals. Project submittals must adhere to rigorous application requirements for consideration of the year’s top honors. Contractors must not only demonstrate outstanding quality in construction and references from the project owner, but also rigorous safety performance.