Awards People

CBC 2018 Project Team Award Winners Announced

Hartford, CT – The Connecticut Building Congress (CBC) recently announced the winners of the 2018 Project Team Awards. Each year,

The Awards Banquet will be held on June 12 in Hartford. One of the winners listed below will be named the Project Team of the Year at the event. CBC also will award several scholarships to graduating high school seniors who will be attending a two- or four-year college next fall to study a field within the AEC industry.

The winning teams are:

K-12 Schools
First: Engineering & Science University Magnet School, New Haven
Merit: Orville H. Platt High School Additions and Renovations, Meriden

Landscape Architecture/Public Spaces
First: St. Paul Church Campus Green & Prayer Garden, Kensington
Merit: Meriden Green, Meriden

Major Renovation/Expansion
First: Henkel Laundry & Beauty Care Pilot Plant, Trumbull
Merit: Marion Peckham Egan School of Nursing and Health Studies, Fairfield University, Fairfield

New Construction
First: Litchfield Judicial District Courthouse, Litchfield
Merit: Ronald McDonald House of Connecticut, New Haven

Small Project
First: Carroll Building, Waterbury
Merit: University of Hartford Gengras Student Union Addition and Renovations, West Hartford

First: Rehabilitation of Bridge No. 04326, Route 175 Over AMTRAK, Newington

CBC recognizes projects whose team members have met or surpassed goals and achieved higher project quality through this close collaboration.

Award judges were Sam Carbone, Senior Development Manager (Americas), Real Estate & Infrastructure Dept., Abu Dhabi Investment Authority, United Arab Emirates; Craig Galati, AIA, Principal, LGA, Inc., Las Vegas, Nev.; and Namhun Lee, Ph.D., CM-BIM, Associate Professor, Central Connecticut State University, New Britain, Conn.