Awards Organizations and Events

NIBS Announce Winners

Washington – The National Institute of Building Sciences has released the winners of built environment awards and scholarships announced during Building Innovation 2021.

Building Innovation 2021 is the NIBS annual meeting and place where everyone who impacts the built environment comes together to find solutions. This year, BI2021 was even bigger, with sessions covering a spectrum of developments in the areas of workplace, technology, and resilience.

The 2021 award winners are:

  • National Institute of Building Sciences Lifetime Achievement Award – Robert Ivy, FAIA, EVP/CEO, American Institute of Architects
  • Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Leadership Award – Structural Engineers Association of Northern California
  • Innovator Award – Procore Technologies
  • Future Leaders Award – Amrinder Singh, Code Enforcement Manager & Building Code Official, Municipality of Norristown
  • Exceptional Woman in Building Award – Nancy Novak, Chief Innovation Officer, Compass Datacenters
  • Distinguished Service Award – John Messner, Chair, U.S. National BIM Standard, Professor, Penn State University
    Betty and Mort Marshall Memorial Scholarship Winners

In memory of Betty and Mort Marshall, a memorial scholarship was established to promote diversity in the building sciences and benefit students pursuing a career in architecture and engineering at a historically black college or university. Mort was the first member of the National Institute of Building Sciences.

The 2021 scholarship winners are:

  • Trajan Baker, architecture, Hampton University
  • Shergaun Roserie, engineering, Howard University