Awards Connecticut People

Best of the Best Recognized at CT ABC’s 17th Annual Excellence in Construction Awards

CT ABC president, Chris Fryxell, addressing the audience / All photos by 4 Biz Graphics

Southington, CT – On Oct. 24, nearly 600 guests turned out at Aqua Turf in Southington for the Connecticut  Associated Builders and Contractors (CT ABC) annual Excellence in Construction awards.  Every year, CT ABC invites its members to enter their best projects in the competition.

HP’s publisher, Anastasia Barnes, and nearly 600 guests attended the event, which recognizes the state’s outstanding merit shop projects of the year, celebrating teamwork and cooperation between general contractors, specialty contractors, and material suppliers.






CT ABC Diamond Sponsors, Marcum, LLC


2019 CT ABC Emerging Leaders’ donation to the Construction Education Center

The year’s Best in Show was awarded to C.E. Floyd Company, Inc. for the Connecticut Children’s Infusion Center.
Below are this year’s award winners:
All State Construction Inc.:
Veterans Administration Hospital Combined Heat & Power (CHP) Plant

CT ABC award winner plaques

C.E. Floyd Company, Inc.:
Connecticut Children’s Infusion Center
Cianbro Corporation:
Bartlett’s Ferry Dam Spillway gate replacement
Interstate Electrical Services, Corp.:
Sacred Heart University’s new recreational center
KBE Building Corporation:
Consolidated public works facility
Kronenberger & Sons Restoration, Inc.:
Façade and steeple repairs, Saint Joseph’s Cathedral
The Middlesex Corporation:
Rehabilitation of bridge No. 00163A, I-95 over West River & SR 745
Petra Construction Corporation:
Area Two Experimental Brewing
R & R Window Contractors, Inc.:
Pequot Highlands Apartments
SLAM Construction Services:
Chapel Haven Residential/Education (REACH) building project
Viking Construction, Inc.:
PARK 215
Wohlsen Construction Company:
The Residence at Selleck’s Woods
Also honored this year were were:
Best of the Best Safety Professional of the Year:
Adam Peters, KBE Building Corporation, corporate safety director
Safety Program – Contractor BCI, Inc. dba Butler Company
Education and Innovation Award:
Jacob Kovel, Stu Bennet and Ray Perreault

(l-r) CT Republican State Reps Themis Klarides and Cristin McCarthy Vahey

Co-Legislators of the Year: State Representative Themis Klarides and Cristin McCarthy Vahey









The Excellence in Construction and Merit Award winners are projects submitted to this annual competition and judged by an independent panel of judges which include architects, engineers and university professionals. Project submittals must adhere to rigorous application requirements for consideration of the year’s top honors. Contractors must not only demonstrate outstanding quality in construction and references from the project owner, but also rigorous safety performance.