Architecture and Interior Design Firm Announces Internal Ownership Transition, Expansion of Team

(l-r) Adam Spagnolo, Gable Clarke, and John Sullivan / Photo courtesy of Business Wire

Boston – SGA announced an internal transition of ownership and expansion of its leadership team. The firm will now be led by equal majority owners: president of Architecture John Sullivan, AIA; President of Interior Design Gable Clarke, NCIDQ, LEED AP, certified generations trainer; and CEO Adam Spagnolo.

Former SGA President and founding partner Al Spagnolo, AIA, NCARB will move to the role of chairman and founding partners Bill Gisness, AIA, BSA, and Jeff Tompkins, IIDA, LEED AP, will transition from the firm. Michael Schroeder, CCM, will remain a minority partner.

Spagnolo will lead and oversee the business of the practice including overall fiscal responsibilities and firm-wide operations. He will lean on his many years of organizational leadership in multiple industries including retail, architecture and design. For the past seven years he has modernized SGA’s business practices, opened the firm’s NYC office and managed its growth.

For 17 years, Sullivan has led the firm’s many large-scale projects in the commercial, technology, life-sciences, and academic markets and often plays a major role in master planning, conceptual design, and the public approvals process. He will lead the firm’s architecture practice focusing on design leadership and client management.

Clarke has earned many honors and awards during her career, including 18 at SGA. She has been involved in the expansion of the firm’s interior design practice and is an ambassador throughout the market. In addition to leading interior design commissions and overseeing the science and technology discipline, she will manage the firm’s human resources department.

SGA has also named five new principals and seven directors. Matthew Fickett, AIA, CPCH, LEED; Joe Mamayek, AIA, LEED AP; Brooks Slocum, AIA; Brian Slozak, RA; and Eric Svahn, AIA, NCARB and have all been elevated to principal. Scott Barnholt, AIA; Caroline Bergin, IIDA, NCIDQ, WELL AP; David Enriquez, LEED AP BD+C; Bill Fleming; Marc Gabriel, LEED AP BD+C, NCARB; Jessica Randolph, AIA, NCARB; Walker Shanklin, AIA; and Amanda Vicari, NCIDQ have all been promoted to director.