Connecticut Green

ACE New Haven Receives CTGBC Award


(l-r) Julia Dumaine, Lynne Panagotopulos, Ian Cooke, Jeremy Jamilkowski, Joshua Palmer, Allison Corriveau, Sarah Gresham, Cassie Aiello, Brian Brigham, Pat McDonnel, Jessica Lindenau. (Kneeling) Michael Comesanas.

2016-08-05 Submission.pdf Bloomfield, CT – At the annual Green Building Awards Celebration of the Connecticut Green Building Council (CTGBC) on September 22, the New Haven chapter of the ACE Mentor Program of Connecticut received the Student Project Award of Honor for its project, River Street Resiliency District. This project addresses rising sea levels and increased storm frequency, two aspects of climate change that are affecting Connecticut’s shoreline directly.

As part of the annual CIRT-ACE National Design Competition, the students worked with mentors to respond to a “Shoreline Design Challenge” and master‐planned 10 blocks of the Fair Haven neighborhood, which sits at the convergence of Long Island Sound, the Mill River, and the Quinnipiac River. The students chose this historic site due to its history of flooding and erosion damage. Additionally, the students addressed the social aspects of revitalizing this culturally significant neighborhood. By developing diagrams, visiting the site, and researching historical data, the students were able to design solutions for three zones: the historic district, buffer zone, and flood zone.


The ACE New Haven team also placed as a second runner up at the CIRT-ACE National Design Competition in Washington, D.C., earlier this year, and also presented the project to the New Haven Office of Economic Development in May 2016.

Led by Jeremy Jamilkowski (GWG Architects), mentors include Alison Corriveau and Melissa Samaroo (Langan Engineering), Amy Daniels and Lynne Panagotopulos (Newman Architects), Dennis Daniels and Jessica Lindenau (GWG Architects), and Robynne Orr (Yale University Planning). Students from Greater New Haven area high schools include Cassie Aiello, Brian Brigham, Samantha Coleman, Michael Comesanas, Ian Cooke, Sarah Gresham, Liam Hullihan, Joshua Palmer, Luke Slomba, Lauren Stanley and Ronal Vera.