2019 Preservation Award Recipients

Boston – Preservation Massachusetts recently introduced its 2019 recipients of the Tsongas, Menino, Eliot, Kuehn and Olmsted Awards.

Paul & Niki Tsongas Award, recognizing people and projects that have displayed the highest level of commitment to historic preservation in the Commonwealth:

The Longfellow Bridge, Boston/Cambridge
Myles Standish Hall & Annex at Boston University, Boston
Mount Greylock War Memorial, Lanesborough
Wood Worsted Mill, Lawrence
Jackson Street Lofts, Lowell
Plymouth Town Hall, Plymouth
The Lofts at Wamsutta Mills, New Bedford
nineZero Washington Street, Salem City Hall Annex, Salem
25 Broadway in Siasconset, Nantucket
Maple Commons Apartments, Springfield
MGM Springfield, Springfield

Mayor Thomas M. Menino Legacy Award, recognizing preservation projects that are transformative, catalytic, embrace the community, create partnerships and revitalize the best of the past to make something good for the future:

Eliot Innovation School, Boston
The Revolution Hotel, Boston
Yarn Works Apartments, Fitchburg
Lowell Community Health Center, Phase II, Lowell
The Sewall Building at the Dimock Center, Roxbury

Robert H. Kuehn Award, recognizing extraordinary projects that meld collaborative partnerships with creative and cutting-edge ideas for the rehabilitation and active reuse of historic buildings:

Bethany Apartments, Hanover
Ivory Keys Apartments, Leominster
Fowler Clark Epstein Farm, Mattapan
Campus Center at Springfield Technical Community College,  Springfield

Charles Eliot Award, recognizing organizations with exceptional vision and excellence in planning for preservation and education:

The Dorchester Historical Society & The Lemuel Clap House, Dorchester
“Dirty Old Boston” by Jim Botticelli
HallKeen & Lenox Schoolhouse Apartments, Lenox

Frederick Law Olmsted Award, recognizing dedication to the promotion of our cultural landscapes:

Bigelow Chapel & Asa Gray Gardens at Mount Auburn Cemetery, Cambridge
Hancock Adams Common, Quincy